Facebook, like other social media platforms, can often feel like some intangible, antagonistic force. And, because of this, people may choose to go off the social media grid and deactivate their account temporarily. In more extreme cases, one might even decide to completely delete their Facebook account if they have no intention of returning. Be warned: if you’ve purchased an Oculus Quest 2 – and some VR titles to go along with it – you will lose all of your games if you permanently delete your Facebook account.
When you first purchase an Oculus Quest 2, it requires you to link your VR account to Facebook. If your Facebook account has been suspended, this will definitely restrict your access. If you deactivate your Facebook account, simply reactivate it if you want to be able to play VR games again. However, if you outright delete your Facebook account, say goodbye to Half-Life: Alyx and any other VR titles you might have purchased. If you make a new account, you’ll have to buy your favorite VR games all over again.
Click here to watch embedded media
For now, these issues are only tied to the Oculus Quest 2 headset. But in 2023, all Oculus headsets must be linked to active Facebook accounts if you want to play in VR. So if you’re exhausted from the stresses of social media interaction while also being a fan VR gaming, consider just deleting the Facebook app from your myriad devices instead.
If you haven’t deleted your Facebook account and you’re enjoying the VR experience, check out our list of Best VR Games For Your Oculus Quest 2.